







Bangkok Declaration Southeast Asian Press Councils Network Bangkok, Thailand September 24, 2019

We, the representatives of the Indonesia Press Council, Myanmar Press Council, Timor-Leste Press Council and the National Press Council of Thailand, convened in Bangkok, Thailand on September 24th, 2019 for the 1st Meeting of Press Councils in Southeast Asia.

We, recognize the need for regional co-operation between the Press Councils by establishing a network to strengthen our common relationship and principles.

We, have exchanged and shared information on the situation of the media during bilateral exchanges and signed declarations such as the Dili Declaration of 2017 where we have recognized the role of the Press Councils in each country and similarities in several areas such as media sustainability, problem of defamation law, rights to information law and disinformation.

We, reaffirm that the main role of the Press Councils is to uphold press freedom which is a pillar of Democracy in our countries.

We, agree to form a network of Press Councils in Southeast Asia, to be known as "Southeast Asian Press Councils Network" (SEAPCN) with Indonesia Press Council, Myanmar Press Council, Timor-Leste Press Council and the National Press Council of Thailand as its founding members with the aims of enhancing cooperation between the Press Council members or similar organizations in Southeast Asia and to promote press freedom through self-regulation and respect of Media Code of Ethics in the region.

We, also agree to set up a working committee to draft the Constitution of the Network, to be completed and announced at the Bali Media Forum, in Bali, Indonesia in December 2019.

We, therefore, reaffirm our commitment to enhance cooperation among the founding members and the implementation of the Network.

Adopted on September 24th, 2019 in Bangkok, Thailand

SIGNATORIES:

Southeast Asian Press Councils Network (SEAPCN)

For Indonesia Press Council

Herelis Barren

Hendry Ch Bangun

Vice Chairman

For Myanmar Press Council

Dr. Myo Thant Tyn,

1st Vice Chairman

For Timor-Leste Press Council For the National Press Council of Thailand

Irgilio da Silva Guterres

Chairman

Chavarong Limpattamapanee

Chairman