Virgílio Guterres, Re-Elected as a President of Timor-Leste Press Council

Dili – The Current President of Timor-Leste Press Council (CI), Virgílio da Silva Guterres, re-elected as president of the country’s media regulatory body for the second turn for the period of 2021-2025 through a secret election held at the conference room of CI, Quintal-Boot, on Monday, 25th of January 2021.

The election was conducted in the first meeting of the CI yearly this year where three votes in favor of Virgílio da Silva Guterres bringing him to take the lead, and two votes casted for Expedito Dias Ximenes.

“Much appreciation given to all colleagues who lay their trust by giving their votes for me to continue as President of CI in this new term, for the next four years, I think the process runs in the Press Council, is simple, because the involvement of five people, if these five fingers hold together will provide more power for us to do something, therefore, this simple process can reflect the nature of Timor-Leste Press Council, that Timor-Leste Press Council exist to ensure a position of defending the freedom of opinion, freedom of expression, which our society exercise and the CI will become a place to ensure those freedom running smoothly, said the president of CI.

He added, “once again thank you so much for all colleagues who were sitting together today in realizing this process, waiting for the next step to have communication at National Parliament to accelerate this process, so that the CI will continue to strengthen its works which been happened in the previous four years.”

Members of the Timor-Leste Press Council for the Period of 2021-2025 composed of Benevides Correia Barros and Expedito Dias Ximenes who were nominated by the National Parliament. While, Francisco Belo Simões and Virgílio da Silva Guterres represent Timor-Leste’s Journalist and Otelio Ote represents the country’s Media owners to be a councilor in the Timor-Leste Press Council. (CI)